city Luxembourg

1973: Luxembourg Italian Bank, controlled by Banco di Napoli (BN), Istituto Bancario San Paolo (IBSP), Banco di Sicilia and Monte dei Paschi di Siena, created through AICI (Anciennes Institutions de Crédit Italiennes) Holding.
1976: Société Européenne de Banque (SEB), subsidiary of Banca Commerciale Italiana (BCI), founded.
1981: Luxembourg Italian Bank transformed into Banco di Napoli International SA Luxembourg.
1981: San Paolo Lariano Bank, later Sanpaolo Bank SA, in which IBSP held a stake, founded.
1990: Cariplo Bank International SA, later Banca Intesa International SA, in which Cassa di Risparmio delle Provincie Lombarde (CARIPLO) held a stake, founded.
1990: IMI Bank (Lux) SA, formerly IMI Capital Market, subsidiary of Istituto Mobiliare Italiano (IMI), founded.
1998: Fideuram Bank (Luxembourg) founded.

In 1970, Istituto Bancario San Paolo (IBSP), Banco di Sicilia and Monte dei Paschi di Siena made an agreement to create a holding company in Luxembourg, AICI Holding SA (AICI - Anciennes Institutions de Crédit Italiennes). Its primary task was to acquire stakes in banking institutions operating in key geographic areas vis-à-vis their trade and commercial interactions with Italy (such as Switzerland, Great Britain and Germany), and to oversee the foreign interests of the three banks.
After Banco di Napoli (BN) also became a member of AICI, the holding company not only acquired stakes in various foreign banks, but also opened a representative office in Tokyo in 1973, followed by another in Nassau (the Bahamas).
In that same year AICI also founded Luxembourg Italian Bank, which operated on behalf of the four banks until 1981, when BN acquired the entire shareholding and changed the bank's name to Banco di Napoli International SA.
In 1976, in partnership with Banca della Svizzera Italiana, Banca Commerciale Italiana (BCI) created Société Européenne de Banque (SEB), a multi-purpose bank whose primary objective, however, was to undertake transactions on the bond market and raise foreign currency funds. Indeed, it was essential for banks looking to expand abroad to have premises in Luxembourg, a leading financial center thanks to the flexibility of its tax and banking laws. This is the reason why IBSP, after transferring its stake in Luxembourg Italian Bank, founded San Paolo Lariano Bank (later Sanpaolo Bank SA and Sanpaolo IMI Bank SA) in 1981, thereby establishing its own presence in the country. It would later bolster that presence with the former branch of Cardine Bank SpA, which it aquired after the 2002 merger between the latter and IBSP.
In the 1980s Banca del Gottardo, in which Banco Ambrosiano Veneto held a stake, also had a Luxembourg branch.
In 1990 CARIPLO created Cariplo Bank International SA, later Banca Intesa International SA.
Thanks to the granting of a banking license to IMI Capital Market (Lux), IMI, too, set up a Luxembourg subsidiary called IMI Bank (Lux).
In 1998 Fideuram Bank (Luxembourg) was created. Like SEB, which was renamed Intesa Sanpaolo Bank Luxembourg, it would continue to do business as part of the Intesa Sanpaolo Group.


ABN, Financial Statements

other banks in the same country Luxembourg - Luxembourg Italian Bank SA Luxembourg - Sanpaolo IMI - Branch Luxembourg - IMI Bank (Lux) SA Luxembourg - Cassa di Risparmio di Bologna - Branch Luxembourg - Société Européenne de Banque (SEB), later Intesa Sanpaolo Bank Luxemburg Luxembourg - Cariplo Bank International SA, later Banca Intesa International SA Luxembourg - Banco di Napoli International SA Luxembourg - Sanpaolo-Lariano Bank, later Sanpaolo Bank SA
see in the map